38 - WA Rowing Club
OPENING HOURS: Saturday 11th November 10am-2pm
ADDRESS: 171 Riverside Drive, Perth
Founded in 1868, with the current clubhouse built in 1905, the WA Rowing Club is the last remaining rowing club on the Swan River foreshore. For many years the clubhouse was left in disrepair and nearly demolished in 1960s before a team of dedicated volunteers renovated and refurbished the site leading to it’s current heritage listing. Boats are stored on the lower level, while the upper level accommodates a gymnasium and ergometers (rowing machines). The upper level is also a successful function venue with 180 degree river views.
The building is both unity and iconic in its Swan River setting. Take a stroll down to the WA Rowing Club to witness a historic era of building on the river amongst the newley-developed setting of Elizabeth Quay.
Get down and explore the heritage of this location as well as experiencing the 2017 Australian Indoor Rowing Championships- happening Saturday morning.